Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Parker Forums General Parker Discussions

Notices

When to restore?
Unread 05-31-2017, 08:57 PM   #1
Kurt Sauers
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default When to restore?

I'm new to the wonderful world of Parkers. Been looking at old threads ,reading as much as possible. Restored guns are amazing, the way they look,and the skill some people have. My question is, are there guidelines or unwritten rules, as to what should be restored,what shouldn't be touched,what guns should have maybe just the barrels done, or case hardened, what would be a complete waste of money or is there a lot of " because i want to"? Im not really talking about collectables. If they're collectables I'd think tyey pretty much have to be original.
Kurt Sauers is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-31-2017, 09:10 PM   #2
Dean Romig
PGCA Invincible
Life Member

Member Info

Thanked 33,944 Times in 12,569 Posts

Hi Kurt, and Welcome!

Yours is one of the hardest questions to answer because it is so subjective. Every gun is worn to the extent it was used (or even abused) and there are so many opinions as to how a gun should be restored, or even if it should be done at all. I'm sure a lot of Members will offer their advice and opinions and that's a good thing because it will give you a lot to think about.

Do you have a particular gun in mind that you are considering as a candidate for restoration? If yes, please post some pictures here so we all can give better advice.

George King, "That's Ruff", 2010 - a timeless classic.
Dean Romig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dean Romig For Your Post:
Unread 06-01-2017, 06:16 AM   #3
B. Dudley
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 18,395 Times in 4,731 Posts

As you said, a search of old threads will yield some answers to your question because it has been asked here a number of times before.

I will lend some thoughts here now.