PDA

View Full Version : New York Catskills grouse report

James L. Martin
10-30-2019, 05:54 PM
So far this season has been very bad. In 8 days of hunting I put in 38 hours and had 13 grouse flushes for .34 flushes an hour. Out of those I only heard most. I didn't get a single shot at any , my partner shot at 1 bird which he missed. We also only put up 3 Woodcock and got 1 which was the only shot I took in all 8 days of hunting. Hope better days are coming, I have been hunting grouse for 50 years, the birds disappeared from southern New York and now the Catskills seems to be going down the same road.

charlie cleveland
10-30-2019, 06:25 PM
sounds like ahard hunt with nothing to show for it.....i have traveled that same road....charlie

Garry L Gordon
10-31-2019, 07:39 AM
So far this season has been very bad. In 8 days of hunting I put in 38 hours and had 13 grouse flushes for .34 flushes an hour. Out of those I only heard most. I didn't get a single shot at any , my partner shot at 1 bird which he missed. We also only put up 3 Woodcock and got 1 which was the only shot I took in all 8 days of hunting. Hope better days are coming, I have been hunting grouse for 50 years, the birds disappeared from southern New York and now the Catskills seems to be going down the same road.

So, James, have they quit logging in the Catskills as they have in so many eastern areas? I lived through the same thing in SE Ohio. Court injunctions from so-called environmentalists who had gotten their ideas of what a healthy forest should look like from a calendar photo stopped the harvesting of trees almost completely...and...no grouse or other wildlife that needs early successional forests.

James L. Martin
10-31-2019, 08:10 AM