PDA

View Full Version : Damascus Barrel Wall Scratching

Theodore LeDurt
09-18-2011, 06:12 PM
Has anyone out there with a damascus gun fired over 200 rounds of the non-tox shot, ITX. Ballistic products said the material in ITX was soft enough for damascus barrels, but a friend has been experimenting with the hardness of the shot, and he is concerned that ITX is hard enough to scratch the metal in a damascus gun.

This is my first year with reloading this shot, and I liked the less expensive price point of it over other non-tox alternatives. Thanks for your responses.

Mark Ouellette
09-18-2011, 07:31 PM
Theodore,

ITX has a Brinell hardness of about 50. Mild steel and iron have Briness hardness of over 100. There should not be a problem shooting ITX in Damascus since hammer welding should have harden the iron and steel of Damascus barrels.

I believe that with the correct thickness and firmness of wad petals ANY shot would not be a problem. Start with a VP-100 or similar wad designed for steel shot. If you are still concerned about shooting ITX add a Milar liner or two around the shot column. Make certain that the shot does not rise above the wad petals.

Mark

Forrest Grilley
09-27-2011, 11:08 AM
I think it could be very possible that ITX or any of the non-tox shots that contain tungsten could scratch, or at the very least erode the chamber and choke cones over time. You definitely want to protect the barrel from the shot as much as possible like Mark suggested.