Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Parker Forums Hunting with Parkers

Notices

Anyone else keep a field journal?
Unread 11-06-2021, 06:01 PM   #1
Andy
PGCA Member

Member Info

Thanked 2,463 Times in 969 Posts

Default Anyone else keep a field journal?

Didn't know where to post it so put it under the Hunting with Parkers title. I have been keeping a journal (both hunting and fishing) for 30 years. Sometimes just a few words, like, "Porcupine covert, 3 grouse flushed, one shot, none dead. Lucy worked well today.." Other times a page full. I don't do weather, humidity, wind...etc. I'm usually too pressed for time. But now, looking back, the past 4-5 years I can't read any of my writing. Damn it degrades with time (or is it the single malts after the hunt?) Thinking of going to a Word document journal but I like written pages (that I can read). Guess I need an executive secretary. Anyone care to share what they do, or am I an outlier? I figure someday someone will give a large enough turd to read them, maybe not. I find if I look over them I get sad over the loss of the dogs that came before. I also find that I had a hell of a lot more energy back then, starting at 6am and hunting until dark well over 100 miles away in the North country then up and at work the next day.
Unread 11-06-2021, 06:18 PM   #2
Harold Pickens
PGCA Member

Member Info

Thanked 7,824 Times in 2,016 Posts

I used to Andy, but like you, it became too time consuming, and my writing just got to sloppy as I became rushed. I do keep a simple log of my grouse hunts in the UP with the following info:
Date/ Hours hunted/ Cover name/ grouse flushes/ kills(hopefully) + woodcock info.
Unread 11-06-2021, 07:43 PM   #3
Andy
PGCA Member

Member Info

Thanked 2,463 Times in 969 Posts

Thank you Harold. I like reading my detailed notes from years ago.
Unread 11-06-2021, 10:45 PM   #4
Zacharysmith
PGCA Member

Member Info