Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   Man's Best Friend (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Tick prevention (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40369)

Phillip Carr 11-01-2023 05:03 AM

Tick prevention

I am headed to Mexico at the end of the month to hunt quail. I am planning on taking one of my dogs with me.
The area we are hunting I understand has a fair amount of ticks.
I have never had an issue in AZ so I am not familiar with others use to prevent ticks on their dogs
I know there are a lot of products out there but I would like to hear first hand on what you have actually used and recommend.
Do I need to start early for best protection?
Thanks Phil

Chris Pope 11-01-2023 05:42 AM

1 Attachment(s)
We use the Seresto Collar (~ $60 ea) with excellent results in tick-laden New England. I have no experience with them in Mexico. While they are expensive they report to last 8 months. We now live in SC, use them year round and change them out every 6-months. Well worth the expense in our opinion but I would certainly like to hear from other members including some of our members who are Veterinarians.

Andrew Sacco 11-01-2023 07:31 AM

Ive lost two Seresto collars on my dogs, but they do work well. I now either use Bravecto or Advantix (applied to the skin as instructed) and before she hunts I spray her lightly with Permethrin. This pretty much has kept my dog tick free for two years and we have a TON of ticks up here. Over 35 degrees or so they're active.

Garry L Gordon 11-01-2023 08:21 AM

We use Frontline Plus. Kills ticks and fleas...but not mosquitoes.

Timothy Salgado 11-01-2023 11:37 AM

I use Bravecto with my late Labrador and still with our Cocker Spaniel, it works fleas, ticks and it worked fine. Oral tab every three months.
Tim

The bugs do have to bite the dog for it to kill them.

Mike Koneski 11-01-2023 11:43 AM