Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   General Discussions about Other Fine Doubles (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Live Pigeon Guns (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=36769)

George Davis 07-03-2022 11:50 AM

Live Pigeon Guns

Yesterday drove to Big Timber and Grand Hotel to meet friend from Livingston Area for lunch and see several of his Live Pigeon Guns. He recently returned from World Shoot and is returning to Europe again in October for another shoot. He brought two B-25 Pigeon Brownings both are Midas Grand and one was double trigger built (I think in 2011) both with 30 inch barrels. The other gun is a Rizzoni side by side with 30 inch barrels with a custom order rib the kind I'd never seen. Please forgive me as I try and describe it, the rib narrows and sinks deeper between the barrels as it gets the closer to the muzzle. I have little knowledge concerning Italian Guns, he has ordered the second gun matching this one with double triggers.

Bill Murphy 07-03-2022 04:42 PM

When your friend offers these guns for sale, get back to us.

Bobby Cash 07-03-2022 07:39 PM

What are the attributes that make a B25 a live bird gun?

https://i.imgur.com/vAinvZ1.jpg

Long barrels?
Tight chokes?
Trap like patterns?
Modest weight versus target weight?
Field dimensions?

Please, do tell.

Ya, ya, I know.
It’s not Midas grade.

CraigThompson 07-03-2022 08:20 PM

My Peruvian buddy in NOVA tells me one is better with shorter barreled gun for Colombaire something from possibly 27-29 inches . The little I’ve seen of box birds it seems to me a 30-32 inch trap doubles gun would be fine . I’ve shot both with the same DH 32” 2 frame no safety gun . My Peruvian buddy also says M or even IC for the first barrel at Colombaire .

Ed Blake 07-03-2022 09:39 PM

An older friend of mine used a plain Jane 30”