Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   Man's Best Friend (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Track and train collar system suggestions (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=39906)

Rick Roemer 08-30-2023 09:28 PM

Track and train collar system suggestions

Hi. I’ve used the Sportdog Tek 1.0 gps collars on my dogs for several years. They’ve worked well, no complaints. Recently they are not holding a charge and the company no longer supports this model. I was told they would offer a discount on a newer model since I’m a returning customer.

Before I do I’d like to ask what others have used with success?

I’d like to stick with a combination track and train model.

Thx for your feedback.

Rick

Phillip Carr 08-30-2023 11:10 PM

I really like my Garmin. I have been using the Tritronics ( now Garmin ) for about 20 years. Great system and great customer service the few times I have needed it. You can replace batteries as well as collars and antennas very easily.

Allen Peterson 08-31-2023 05:34 AM

I have been using Garmen for years and am used to it. both are good at our club people use both. I use mine for the tracking function and love it the ability to add multiple dogs and share info with other hunters is a nice feature.

Chris Pope 08-31-2023 07:01 AM

Ive had the Garmin GPS collars for almost 10 years and use them almost every day for training or just exercising the dogs. They take a beating, can handle salt water and hot temps as I leave the collars in the back of my truck when not in use. Had to replace one battery in that time. The rubber protective coating on the GPS handheld unit is almost completely worn off. According to tech support that will not affect the waterproof features or function of the unit.
I will say they are very expensive but so far the quality is there. Will likely stick with Garmin.