PDA

View Full Version : Real Deal Case Colors

Bruce Day
03-08-2012, 09:42 AM
The way they were made.

Now I'm no expert, but I have wondered why we usually see color differences between the trigger plate and frame on internal hammer guns and the sideplates and frame on external hammer guns. So I have asked around and the responses from people who do case colors is that the frame must remain soft(er) than the plates in order to withstand firing shocks, so they are treated differently during the case hardening process. As a result, the plates retain color longer when exposed to wear.

Bruce Day, Parker beginner and aspiring neophite

Brian Dudley
03-08-2012, 09:57 AM
Wouldn't the parts be all assembled during the CCH process?

Bruce Day
03-08-2012, 10:02 AM
No. Not at all. Each type of part is packed into the case hardening crucible separately. What I have learned is that the crucibles containing the various parts are not subjected to the same furnance time.

Bill Murphy
03-08-2012, 10:04 AM
Deleted. I asked the same question and got my answer. Thanks.

edgarspencer
03-08-2012, 10:12 PM
What I have learned is that the crucibles containing the various parts are not subjected to the same furnance time.
Are you certain of that? I received regular orders from Colt, in West Hartford for these "crucible". In the case of Colt, they were a 5x5x10" box, cast in a martensitic alloy (called CA6-NM, for those that care) I have been in the heat treating department at Colts many times, and, at least in their case, the boxes aren't unclamped until back to room temperature.

Dean Romig
03-08-2012, 10:20 PM
The parts were strategically placed in the crucibles with bone, shards of hide and various other biologic 'packing' around the parts. The frame was not placed in the crucibles as an assembled unit.

edgarspencer
03-08-2012, 10:36 PM