PDA

View Full Version : Missing grade?

Joseph white
11-18-2020, 08:50 AM
Ok yall im a newbie here and to parkers. I bought a parker on a local online auction last week. I have looked into the information here and in other areas and have a decent understanding of what I have with the exception of the grade mark. I've taken and posted a bunch of photos here to see if anyone else can help me out with it. I will post any other pics needed if you ask. From what I know right now I have a 1883 twist barrel, size 3 frame with a barrel weight of 58. If any of that is wrong please let me know. Also if anyone would be willing to spit ball a value I would much appreciate that, and I know it would be a unofficial one, im just looking for a rough idea to see if I over paid lol. After I sort all this out ill be posting more threads on the restore or not to restore question. Thanks yall and I look forward to working with ya!

edgarspencer
11-18-2020, 09:19 AM
Looks to be a 10ga. so it's a Grade 0, (R, a sub category of 0 grade, 10ga. guns). A 3 frame probably has a lot of meat in the barrel wall, so those bores 'might' clean up, but I doubt the stock will stand up to any shooting. I wouldn't speculate on the value. The 'personalizations' on the butt is interesting.

Dave Noreen
11-18-2020, 11:21 AM
By the serial number chronology 35651 would be an 1883 vintage gun. This price list is from July 1882 --

It appears your gun is a Quality R.

We recently went through all of this for 37865 --

http://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=31307&highlight=37865

Joseph white
11-18-2020, 11:43 AM
Ok so where would I find the mark for the grade then? And what is the "J" mark in reference to?

Dave Noreen
11-18-2020, 02:15 PM
There isn't one. Parker Bros. didn't normally stamp the grade number on the Grade 0 and 1 guns.

Joseph white
11-18-2020, 02:27 PM