PDA

View Full Version : Curious about this plate

Kerilynn Viccione
09-23-2020, 10:07 PM
Hello everyone,
I have an unexpected new piece for my collection. Parkers seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately- much to my delight. Today I acquired what was described as an "entry level" Parker, which was very amusing to me when I heard it put that way. It's a 12 gauge, Vulcan Steel, Grade 0, 1904.
It definitely doesn't have any frills, but it's endearing none-the-less. However, there are a couple of things that I've not seen before and I've no doubt that the knowledge base on this sight will know what's what about it. The buttplate is unfamiliar to me, and the marks on the lug are strange. It's a fun piece, if nothing else, for an entry level :)
Thank you in advance!

Harold Lee Pickens
09-23-2020, 10:23 PM
Never seen anything like that on the lug Kerilynn, and butt plate not a Parker plate, but reproduction plates are available. The rest of the gun looks to be in decent shape.

Kerilynn Viccione
09-23-2020, 10:31 PM
Thanks Harold!

Brian Dudley
09-23-2020, 10:46 PM
The plate is a common type of universal aftermarket plate that was available at one time. I have a bunch of them in my “junk” drawer. I think it may have been something that bishop offered.
I also do not think the buttstock is original to the gun.

The pin punch marks on the bottom of the barrel lug was some hacks attempt at tightening up the fit of the barrels in that area. I could show you some wowsa examples of this type of work. Also in the junk drawers.

Mike Poindexter
09-23-2020, 10:46 PM