PDA

View Full Version : New user/ Trying to ID a Parker Bro. SXS 12 Guage

Bill Sandefur
07-07-2014, 11:51 AM
"Special Notice: On the early lifters, the serial number is on the water table, the forend iron, the trigger guard and the side of the barrel lug. The number on the barrel flats is the Order Number, not the serial number."

I copied the above off this site. Just bought a PB side by side in a 12 gauge with external hammers.

The gun was made in 1880
The serial numbers on the barrel lug, the trigger guard and the forend arm are all the same.
However, the number on the water table is different. There is no "grade" marking on the water table. Only a 5 digit number and a pat. date 03/16/1875

On the barrel flat there is #"46", the letter "T" and the Pat. date 4/11/1876

The # on the barrel lug is "02".

Can anyone help me understand all these numbers?

This is my first time on this site. Thanks in advance for your help

Rick Losey
07-07-2014, 02:40 PM
can you post pictures, and the serial numbers

is it a lifter?

one option is that it may be a composed gun

Bill Sandefur
07-07-2014, 04:09 PM
I hope the photos are attached. Thanks for your help,

Bill

Bill Sandefur
07-07-2014, 04:13 PM
Being new to this, Im not sure how to post photos.
The number on the Barrel Lug, Trigger guard, and the Forend arm is 17680
The number on the water table is 19445
Thanks, Bill

Bill Sandefur
07-07-2014, 04:21 PM
Hopefully this worked.

Bill

Brian Dudley
07-07-2014, 04:22 PM
If the number on the water table differs from the rest of the gun, then it is a non-matching gun. It is odd that all of those other numbers match and not the frame. But... Who knows.