Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Non-Parker Specific & General Discussions Shotgun Shell Reloading

Notices

Longshot !!!! May be worth taking a look at.
Unread 12-23-2016, 04:29 PM   #1
Kirk Mckinney
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default Longshot !!!! May be worth taking a look at.

Gentlemen. Although I am new to shotshell reloading it seems for those who shoot vintage doubles requiring low pressure rounds. Longshot may be the ticket. The only thing I could find on the powder were in forms where people complained that it was either to loud or their shoulders couldn't stand up to the loads. Most published loads are way up there. 1350fps and up all the way to 1450fps. And heavy payloads on top of that. Something I don't want going thru my old double. Even read a couple of forms of people claiming these loads destroyed modern semi autos. None the less. I just had tested a 1 oz lead load in a 2 1/2 12 gauge shell. The results were really good. Average velocity 1233fps @6000 psi. Not sure but that sounds great to me. I also tested a 3/4 oz lead load with this monster powder and the results were amazing compared to Longshot's reputation. Although I slowed the 3/4 oz load down to slow. The six shot string only had 29fps difference from the fastest to slowest and the psi rivaled 7625 or what ever that coveted discontinued powder was. Although I need to up the charge to get 1200fps it's looks like it will still be under 5k psi, maybe way under Guys it looks like Longshot slowed down may just be the ticket. It seems to shoot fine down in the normal range. Under the speed of light. Lol Just my 2 cents worth. I placed my order for some. Precision has it on sale at a great price. AnywY Merry Christmas guys. See you in the field.
Kirk Mckinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-23-2016, 04:44 PM   #2
Kirk Mckinney
Forum Associate

Member Info