Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Announcement, Help & Introduction Forums New User Introductions

Notices

"Newbie" on deck
Unread 06-04-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
Grantham Forester
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default "Newbie" on deck

Hello! My name is Grantham, but everybody calls me Grant- so that works out! I have been bird hunting almost all my life, starting out as a farm boy in the Midwest in the CRP and Soil Bank times. Fewer birds today perhaps, but I love to be out afield with my GSP. I have been using a older Browing Auto-5 20 gauge for many years, but recently my wife's grand father left me his Parker 12 gauge double. It has 30" Vulcan Steel barrels, two triggers, small forearm and full pistol grip stock and a black butt plate with a dog's head holding a snipe or woodcock in his mouth. It does have the automatic ejectors, and the safety re-sets itself when you open the top lever. It has been stored away for 20 years, but was well cared for, most of the barrel blue and the wood finish are intact. It was his prized possession. I did look up the serial number and it was made in Meriden between 1929 and 1930. I will try to get some pictures later!
Unread 06-04-2012, 06:53 PM   #2
Autumn Daze
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,727 Posts

Welcome Grant...We await your pictures......And may I suggest that you join us with a membership to the PGCA now that already own a Parker gun....
Unread 06-04-2012, 08:04 PM   #3
John D.
PGCA Lifer
Admin

Member Info

Thanked 4,158 Times in 823 Posts

Hey Grant!

Welcome to our little slice of the internet!!

As Dave mentioned - pictures of your Parker or your GSP would be outstanding!!! So, settle back, put up your feet - and enjoy this community...

John
John Dunkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-04-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
Dean Romig
PGCA Invincible
Life Member

Member Info

Thanked 33,040 Times in 12,321 Posts