Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Announcement, Help & Introduction Forums New User Introductions

Notices

1906 Parker
Unread 05-22-2013, 11:28 AM   #1
Doug Marks
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default 1906 Parker

Hi Everybody!

I'm not only new to this forum, but I'm new to Parker, too. I grew up on a farm in Virginia, but have lived in SC for over 30 years. As a kid, I had a little Fox 20 ga. double barrel, but my dad "traded" it later for a Browning 12 ga. for me

I haven't actively hunted for a number of years, but still have lots of friends and relatives who live to hunt!

My dad died about two months ago at age 88. Right after he got home from Europe after WWII, he and some fellow farmers founded a hunt club in Southampton County, Virginia. Indiantown Hunt Club is still VERY active, and has been for 67 years. About two months before dad died, I took him on a hunt on the last day of deer season in the county. I got my vehicle in position where he could hear the dogs run, and we actully saw three bucks that morning. I'm so glad he was able to get in that last "hunt" with his friends. His TRUE love, however, was "bird hunting". Over the years he had a dozen or more bird dogs ... English pointers, English setters, Boykin spaniels, and a few that were of questionable lineage! As a young man, he'd buy two case of shells each year. He shot No. 9's before Christmas, and No. 8's after Christmas. This was back when there were more shells in a case than there are now, and he NEVER had any left over at the end of the season. I don't know how many quail he shot in his lifetime, but he was a hell of a shooter!