Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Non-Parker Specific & General Discussions Shotgun Shell Reloading

Notices

Lead shot for reloading
Unread 04-01-2016, 11:21 AM   #1
Kirk Mckinney
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default Lead shot for reloading

Gentleman. Once again I would like to draw from the years of experience represented on this site. I am new to shotshell reloading and am loading lp 2 1/2 shells for my old 1929 Sxs. I shoot skeet to stay sharp and dove and quail during season. On the subject of lead shot. There are many different brands and types. From magnum to chilled. Nickel plated and various blends of lead and other alloys. Are any better that the other. I know a few pellets are going to spiral off in a different direction but all in all is there really a difference. Or should I just go with the cheapest I can find. Thanks for your opinion in advance. See you in the field
Kirk Mckinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-01-2016, 11:40 AM   #2
Kensal Rise
PGCA Member

Member Info

Thanked 2,577 Times in 926 Posts

Kirk:
For skeet shooting, shoot whatever you can find and afford. For birds afield, it's a bit better to use "magnum" or hard shot. Otherwise, it's all mind games...
John Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to John Campbell For Your Post:
Unread 04-01-2016, 12:46 PM   #3
Kirk Mckinney
Forum Associate

Member Info

Thanks Kensal for the info. So I guess the harder shot stays more uniform and produces straighter flight. So that's what it means by magnum shot means Harder??? Is chilled shot hard or soft???
Unread 04-01-2016, 12:55 PM   #4
Kensal Rise
PGCA Member

Member Info

Thanked 2,577 Times in 926 Posts