Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Parker Forums General Parker Discussions

Notices

12ga shotshell loads and their equivalents
Unread 10-09-2017, 08:12 AM   #1
Rick Riddell
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default 12ga shotshell loads and their equivalents

Please go easy as I'm still learning!
I have some Holland and Holland lite load 2 1/2 inch (15/16 26gram #8 fibre wad) on the box it is rated for guns proofed for 1 1/8 oz and a service pressure of 3 tons per square inch it also gives service pressure of 850 bars. My question is how does this relate to pressures that we look for when using vintage American doubles? I also have some Winchester Low Noise with the same powder charge and pellet size but at 2 3/4 inch with a plastic wad. These shells are documented at about 6 to 7,000 psi. Would the Hollands be similar in pressures? Also as the shot size gets smaller or larger does the pressure increase, or are they equivalent based on weight i.e 160 pellets of size 8 is equal to 200 pellets of size 9 based on weight and being pushed by the same amount of powder? I hope I'm looking at this correctly, but feel I may be way off base. Any discussion or guidance would be greatly appreciated! Once again thanks for your patience knowledge!!

Rick
Rick Riddell is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-2017, 10:50 AM   #2
Paul Harm
Forum Associate

Member Info

Maybe post this on the reloading forum.
Unread 10-09-2017, 11:07 AM   #3
Paul Harm
Forum Associate

Member Info