Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Non-Parker Specific & General Discussions Shotgun Shell Reloading

Notices

Can you reload short 10 and 2.5" 12 ga loads with the same press?
Unread 01-11-2017, 10:17 AM   #1
King Cobb
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 1,521 Times in 405 Posts

Default Can you reload short 10 and 2.5" 12 ga loads with the same press?

Just curious as I am looking at getting back into shotgun reloading to reload for my parkers. I reloaded back in Jr. High and High School for skeet shooting on an old Mecc progressive my dad had. I have been reloading pistol rounds for about 5 years or so.

My question when looking at shotgun reloaders is, is it possible to get one reloader for both gauges or do I need to get a seperate reloader for both?

I know Mecc will build you a reloader for the short 10 or 12 if you contact them, but not familiar enough with shotgun reloaders to know if you can adjust the gauge you reload like you can change pistol calibers?

Thanks for any help!
Unread 01-11-2017, 10:21 AM   #2
OH Osthaus
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 8,149 Times in 3,258 Posts

You would have to have a set of dies for both gauges

It's easier to have two presses

BTW. You don't need MEC to build one - get or make a "short kit" and you can covert an 12MEC to 2 1/2. Or a 10 to 2 7/8 (or 2 5/8 for British). So find an inexpensive used press and load away
Unread 01-11-2017, 10:41 AM   #3
King Cobb
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 1,521 Times in 405 Posts

Rick,

thanks. I remember reading something about the short kit, but can't find it in my notes.

I also have some brass 12 ga shells, but I imagine those would have to be hand loaded...
Unread 01-11-2017, 11:00 AM   #4
OH Osthaus
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

See page two here for Bill's homemade short kit. You only need to worry about the two crimping stations

http://parkerguns.org/forums/showthr...t=Short&page=2