Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Non-Parker Specific & General Discussions Man's Best Friend

Notices

Abby Gun gets it done
Unread 04-19-2017, 04:59 AM   #1
tom tutwiler
Forum Associate

Member Info

Default Abby Gun gets it done

Abby for those who didn't know her was the sweetest most lovable Golden Retriever one could imagine. My first dog that I got at the ripe of age of 45 years old. A better dog by far then I was a trainer and she hunted with me from Montana to Maine. Smart as a whip and a amazing retriever and driven to hunt for me. We had some great years together.

In homage to her I decided when she was 9 years old that I wanted to have a gun made up for her with her likeness on the bottom, and with engraving of ducks, pheasants, grouse, woodcock etc on the gun as she and I hunted all of those birds together.

The gun of choice was a Fox Sterlingworth ejector 12 gauge as I wanted a gun that I could pretty much hunt anything with. Because of lead times and such, I didn't get the gun finished until Abby was 12 years old. We had one good hunt a local preserve with the gun and it was a fun fun day. Old dogs day is what I called it as she had slowed down a lot, but the desire was still very strong.

After Abby passed I decided I was going to take it turkey hunting every year sometime during the season and in the right place in the right situation I could hopefully get a bird with the Abby Gun. That first spring I was able to take a Jake with the Abby Gun and the following year a spring gobbler. Last year was flat out tough. Only was able to shoot one Jake with my 20 gauge and the Abby Gun never got taken out of the safe.