Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums  

Go Back   Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums Parker Forums General Parker Discussions

Notices

A question regarding wood-specifically relating to color
Unread 06-03-2017, 07:59 PM   #1
King Cobb
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 1,521 Times in 405 Posts

Default A question regarding wood-specifically relating to color

Now I have been hanging around here since 2013 or so and have tried to soak up a lot of knowledge. The more I learn the more I find I need to learn.

What I am currently interested in is the great variety of difference in color of wood on Parker. Some of this is related to age, use, grain, quality, grade, condition, finish etc.

But some guns have a stock that looks brand new but has a very brown finish/color to it whereas another gun of similar vintage and grade had a stock that almost glows red.

Is this just differences in Wood over time of production? Or is the really strong red color not correct or is it more a fact of the individual selling the guns having very good pictures?

I will post example of what I mean below:
Unread 06-03-2017, 09:48 PM   #2
B. Dudley
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 17,541 Times in 4,621 Posts

The type of finish used on a stock can have a drastic effect on what the color of the wood will be like.

In my opinion, The top gun pictured has likely been restocked (butt only). it is way too red to be original finish. The "look" of the wood is just too new to be original. Also, look at the difference between the butt and forend in both finish and the wood itself. Not the same.
That stock was likely stained to get that red of a color or the species of wood is doing it, or a combo of both. A few other slight things about form also suggest a restock to me.

The bottom stock appears to be original wood and original finish.
Visit Brian Dudley's homepage!
Unread 06-03-2017, 09:58 PM   #3
King Cobb
PGCA Lifetime

Member Info

Thanked 1,521 Times in 405 Posts