Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   Parker Restoration (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Tru oil versus Timberlux (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=23879)

David Penland 04-05-2018 10:04 AM

Tru oil versus Timberlux

For those who have used both Tru oil and Timberlux, which do you think is best for gunstock finish? Thanks for your input.

Steve Huffman 04-05-2018 12:29 PM

I hate Tru oil and never used Timberlux But I think others have and like it they will chime in .

chris dawe 04-05-2018 01:11 PM

Tru oil needs to be thinned ,it makes a good tough finish - but the thickness IMO can make it troublesome to apply .

I have no experience with Timberlux ,but I've heard good things .
Permalyn is another great product .

There are as many opinions over finish as we have Arse****s,but I have always personally felt the method of application is most important

Eric Eis 04-05-2018 03:32 PM

I too have heard great things about Timberlux, (I don't like Tru Oil) and I was going to order some but he charges $15 for shipping one jar ! That's a little excessive.

Brian Dudley 04-05-2018 06:08 PM

Tru-oil is a very good versitle finish that can be used to acheive a varitey of types of finishes.
For someone with not much experience and working on general projects, they cant go wrong with it.

Timberluxe is good as well, and is a lot better at getting some color into the wood since it has some color to it itself. It is a better finish for getting the right look on older guns. Not that it is hard to work with or anything, but it is different than tru-oil for sure. It definately has a longer dry time or ahoukd i say cure time.

Chuck Bishop 04-05-2018 07:34 PM

I don't like True Oil and haven't tried Timberlux. I like Pro Custom Oil and I know many stockmakers that like it too.

Mike McKinney 04-05-2018 09:14 PM