Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   Shotgun Shell Reloading (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   16 ga Cheddite and Claybuster wads (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=32542)

Harold Lee Pickens 02-19-2021 12:10 PM

16 ga Cheddite and Claybuster wads

I had found a load using Universal, Cheddite hulls, and the Claybuster clone for the old WAA 16 wad. It all fit nicely, but then read that powder migration in straight walled hulls with this wad was a problem,and I might get alot of weak loads or bloopers, others said it was with the old WAA16 wad but not with the newer CB wads. Any body have any experiance with this or thoughts. Was trying to use up a bag of wads that has been sitting here for a long time--plus they are much cheaper than the SG 16 wad.

Frank Srebro 02-19-2021 02:01 PM

Harold, I'm just getting into 16 ga reloading and my new Sizemaster arrived a few days ago. Guidance from a friend who reloads for 16 is the CB 1078-16 in Cheddite hulls does go Bang but he sees powder migration past the wad base and the report and recoil are weaker than his typical load with Gualandi SG wads.

Friend suggested and I now have plenty of pink CB 1078-16's for use in black colored Remington Game Load hulls. They measure about .637" diameter across the seal surface - that's an average because they're not perfectly round. Also bought a big stock of G SG wads for use in fired RST hulls; they average about .660" base diameter. Easy to understand why the CB's might not be the best in Euro hulls like Cheddites.

\

Daryl Corona 02-19-2021 02:39 PM

Harold;

See if you can locate some Downrange DR16 wads. They are scarce, like other components, but are worth the search. I've used them in the Rem RGL hulls , Federal and Cheddite hulls. They are versatile allowing you to load from 3/4 to 1 oz. loads.

Good luck.