Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   General Parker Discussions (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Real Deal Case Colors (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=6572)

Bruce Day 03-08-2012 09:42 AM

Real Deal Case Colors

4 Attachment(s)
The way they were made.

Now I'm no expert, but I have wondered why we usually see color differences between the trigger plate and frame on internal hammer guns and the sideplates and frame on external hammer guns. So I have asked around and the responses from people who do case colors is that the frame must remain soft(er) than the plates in order to withstand firing shocks, so they are treated differently during the case hardening process. As a result, the plates retain color longer when exposed to wear.

Bruce Day, Parker beginner and aspiring neophite

Brian Dudley 03-08-2012 09:57 AM

Wouldn't the parts be all assembled during the CCH process?

Bruce Day 03-08-2012 10:02 AM

No. Not at all. Each type of part is packed into the case hardening crucible separately. What I have learned is that the crucibles containing the various parts are not subjected to the same furnance time.

Bill Murphy 03-08-2012 10:04 AM

Deleted. I asked the same question and got my answer. Thanks.

edgarspencer 03-08-2012 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bruce Day (Post 64321)
What I have learned is that the crucibles containing the various parts are not subjected to the same furnance time.

Are you certain of that? I received regular orders from Colt, in West Hartford for these "crucible". In the case of Colt, they were a 5x5x10" box, cast in a martensitic alloy (called CA6-NM, for those that care) I have been in the heat treating department at Colts many times, and, at least in their case, the boxes aren't unclamped until back to room temperature.

Dean Romig 03-08-2012 10:20 PM