Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   Parker Restoration (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   To Shoot or Not To Shoot (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=30745)

Scott Pitts 07-26-2020 04:12 PM

To Shoot or Not To Shoot

67 Attachment(s)
I just recently picked up this Parker while visiting home in Arkansas. I know little to nothing about Parker shotguns so I'm a newbie.
*This is a beautiful shotgun as is, but I'm wondering what restoration I can do without diminishing the value?
*I'm interested in the history of the gun ie. year, model, style, etc.
*I would also like to know what the estimated value/grade in this condition (see photos)?
*And finally can I shoot it?
*What would be the proper ammo?

The Shotgun is tight and firing pins look good too. Both barrels have a couple of dings which concerns me. Any help or direction is greatly appriciated.
Thanks SP

Rick Losey 07-26-2020 04:40 PM

wow- that is a lot of photos :rotf:

but better more than not enough

first - have the barrels inspected by a qualified double gunsmith- most 'smiths are not

and have the head of the stock inspected - looks like it might be loose or have a splitting issue

its a well worn D/3 grade- if the inspection gives it a clean bill of health - get some RST 2 1/2 shells and shoot it

as for restoration - just fix what needs to be done to make it a safe shooter and enjoy-

Brian Dudley 07-26-2020 05:02 PM

The buttstock is not original. Not even a Parker stock by the look of it. Looks like a relatively poorly made stock made by who-knows-who. The fitment is pretty poor at the head. And though it may go bang, it may not hold up well under a lot of use and recoil.

Russell E. Cleary 07-26-2020 10:15 PM

Nice find in my book.