Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums

Parker Gun Collectors Association Forums (https://parkerguns.org/forums/index.php)
-   Parker Hammer Guns (https://parkerguns.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Missing hammer... (https://parkerguns.org/forums/showthread.php?t=31300)

Micah Hostetler 10-04-2020 01:08 AM

Missing hammer...

5 Attachment(s)
So I’m new here so bare with me guys. I acquired this fine shotgun missing the right hammer and screw and would like to get it back in working order again. I’m new to the parker shotguns so any info on the gun itself and/or finding a replacement hammer would be greatly appreciated. I’m pretty sure the hammer existing hammer screw is not original.

Harold Lee Pickens 10-04-2020 07:57 AM

Hi Micah, you landed in the right spot. Nice old hammer gun, I love shooting hammer guns at both game and clays. I think you will find some help here .Brian Dudley, an expert in working on and restoring our old guns may have one in his parts inventory, I'm sure he will respond. Also Dave Fjeline in California makes hammers. Tell us a little more about the gun, the serial # will give us its date of manufacture. How are the bores?-probably the most important factor in getting that old beauty back in shooting order.

Dean Romig 10-04-2020 07:59 AM

Before getting a hammer and screw to get the gun back in working order, it is recommended that you have the barrel wall thicknesses measured by a qualified double-gun expert with the correct tools. No sense putting money into a gun that might be unsafe to shoot.

Micah Hostetler 10-04-2020 10:54 AM

The gun is in very good condition imo. No pitting inside the barrels or outside. Action is ver tight, no cracks or repairs in the wood. Serial numbers all match. There are 2 very small dents in the left barrel. Barely visibly to my eyes but I can feel them when I run my hand over them. Serial number is 36020.

I have shot a few RST loads through it.

Harold Lee Pickens 10-04-2020 08:17 PM