PDA

View Full Version : shotgun shell ???

calvin humburg
12-06-2009, 09:00 AM
I am brand new at this. What do you think of brass hulls? Will recoil cause left shell to come apart and blow left barrel when fired? I like black, what is best, ff? ch

Harry Collins
12-06-2009, 10:58 AM
Calvin,

Welcome to the forum. Shooting black powder from brass shells in old guns is great fun. I am not sure of your experience so I may be going over things you already know. Rather than take up alot of space here I invite you to read about BP Cartridges at www.circlefly.com Your question about a shell coming apart from recoil is very valid. My overshotcards are a size or two larger than the other wads and I have carried them in my pocket all day and not had them lose their shot. If I fire the right barrel and not the left I will reload the left barrel crtridge in the right barrel and put a fresh cartridge in the left barrel. I do seal my cartridges now because I have pressed the envelope to long. I have sealed the overshot card with waterglass, but if you do not use those cartridges soon the waterglasss will become brittle. I use a hot glue gun now to seal the overshot card because 1. it is fast and easy 2. it sets up right away.

What gun are you going to shoot them from and at what?

Kindest, Harry

calvin humburg
12-06-2009, 03:14 PM
Harry,

An old parker lifter I just aquired, hammer gun. The old guns are really neet. Bought it from small picture think i finally got lucky. I am going to shoot phesants and ducks........ every thing, bored with 870, 101. The boy is getting old enough wants to hunt all the time so this is making it fun again for me. I load blk powder cartridges 45 70. Shoot silhoets. Need recipe for shot shells. Use fff for 45 70 whats best for shot gun. Nears I can tell it's got 2 5/8 chamber. Thanks much, ch

Harry Collins
12-06-2009, 06:03 PM