PDA

View Full Version : Parker Gun Cases

Bruce Day
11-24-2011, 09:12 AM
These are original Parker hammer gun cases with accessories.

These are some of the best condition ones that I have seen, after all, they are over 100 years old. The detailed photos and measurements should enable a skilled woodworker to make a reproduction case.

calvin humburg
11-24-2011, 11:35 AM
Thanks Bruce. What kind of wood would be your choice?

Eric Baker
11-24-2011, 12:08 PM
Bruce,

New member Eric Baker here. Thanks for the great photos and information. I have a friend who's a master cabinetmaker that I've recently infected with an interest in old double guns. Could prove fortuitous!

Do you know the barrel length of that nice D grade Lifter? Mine has 26" barrels which appear uncut but the serialization book lists it with 30".

Bruce Day
11-24-2011, 12:38 PM
These cases were of black walnut. The inside block parts were of a lightweight, light colored wood of some type. Poplar, basswood, sycamore, maybe. The original cost was $10, a bit more today.

These cases belong to a friend and while I would love to have one for my only hammer gun, I don't. I am reasonably sure the lifter action 11ga has 30" barrels. Almost all these hammer guns, unless a rare small bore, were either 30" or 32". A 26" barrel on a hammer gun would raise a question for me about whether the barrels were cut. The easiest indicator is the matted rib ending but matted ribs first came in 1886, after most of the lifter action guns. A person would need to look at the choke constrictions and the barrel end keels. A person can look at the TPS records to see the rarity of 26" barrels, more were made in 28" and most were in 30".

These guns were almost always choked around .035 and Parker chokes that tight were four inches long. A 4" bob would result in a cylinder bore, so a lifter with a cylinder bore is highly indicative of a cut barrel or reamed choke.

But, we have experts here, and I'm not one of them.