PDA

View Full Version : Can I reload old fashioned paper shells?

Steve McCarty
09-30-2011, 02:10 PM
I'm new to shotshell reloading, but have used all kinds of reloading tools for rifle and pistols for over half a century.

Here's what I want to do: Use a Lee Load All to reload old fashioned paper shells with a roll crimp. Does that happen anymore?

Am I stuck with plastic cases, a star crimp and plastic shot cup wads? Is it that much easier to use plastic wads and cases rather than paper shells and fiber wads?

If it is too much of a pain to reload paper shells I'll go ahead and use plastic, but I miss the feel of a paper shell in my hand and those old fiber wads flying out there in front of me.

Does anyone out there use the Lee Loader Load All? I've used those old Lee rifle/pistol hand loading tools since I was a kid and since I don't reload hundreds of rounds they work fine for me. They are also simplier and simple is good.

Dave Suponski
09-30-2011, 03:18 PM
Steve,If you are going to get into reloading I would suggest buying a MEC reloader. They are a great machine and can be had on the used market in 12 gauge for short money. Others will chime in here on reloading paper shells. Quite a few of our members do and nothing beats the smell of a just fired paper shell.Well....almost nothing.

Chuck Bishop
09-30-2011, 04:14 PM
In the old days, I reloaded Federal Papers exclusively with plastic wads and Red Dot powder on both a Ponsness and Mec. They had the 6 star crimps and of course the smell was like perfume:whistle: