PDA

View Full Version : Short Ten Crow Killin'

Pete Lester
09-06-2011, 08:26 AM
Yesterday started with change of plans on where to hunt. Distant thunderstorms were lighting up the sky in two directions but no thunder could be heard as we walked out to the field. Armed with my 1893 NH (left) and Scott with his 1889 EH (right) we put out a dozen or so decoys and turned on our two callers. Action was steady for the 3 hours we hunted. Many singles and doubles flew into their final resting spot as the big guns barked. We each had a 60 to 70 yard kill which always brings a big smile. Several times we had groups of 5 or more come in to see what was going on, each group paid a price. At one point a migrating flock of ravens, a large flock, the likes of which we have not seen before descended on our position. We had at least 25 of them over us. Following them in and then mixing in with them were a handful of crows. I shot one crow out of all the ravens which I studied up and down and then sideways to be sure before shooting. We had 28 birds down and were picking up. It was real hot and we were down to our t-shirts for the job, guns in hand. As we were picking up I looked up to see 5 birds heading our way I kneeled down and yelled freeze. Caught in the open, Scott in a bright blue t-shirt was kneeling motionless. They kept coming. I told him when I go to shoot they will be straight over your head to behind you. I stood up, clocked one, he got another which I anchored with my second shot. Morning total, 30 birds. Scott said he picked up two more on the way home. A real good day for early September, definitely a few new birds in the area. I had four doubles with my NH, shooting way over my head! LOL

http://i269.photobucket.com/albums/jj57/nhshotgunner/100_1013.jpg

Dean Romig
09-06-2011, 11:07 AM
Thanks for your keen identification of those ravens... I love those big birds. Their range of vocabulary never ceases to amaze when I'm deer hunting in Vermont.

Destry L. Hoffard