PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Dennis V. Nix
08-14-2011, 05:13 PM
I am a new member of the PGCA and would like to extend my greetings to everyone. To begin I would like to tell you a little bit about myself. I am a retired Lieutenant from the CO Dept. of Corrections in Canon City, CO. I also have 10 years’ experience with the Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Office in Santa Barbara, CA. Prior to that I was in the USMC from 1964-1968. From reading lots of posts on the forum I see that there a few Marines present. Semper Fi to all my brothers. I also see the LPH-4, USS Boxer mentioned several times. The Boxer was my ride to Vietnam in 1966. While in Vietnam on my second tour I also served on the LPH-10, USS Tripoli. That was a much newer ship. I presently live in the Santa Barbara, CA area but still have 180 acres in Canon City, CO. I go there every year to hunt mule deer and black bear.

I have been collecting firearms of all types since I was 12 years old. I have bought and sold quite a few of them over the years. While I won’t go into each firearm I own I will go into a Parker that recently crossed my doorstep. It is a GH, 12 gauge choked improved modified and full. It appears to be totally original. According to the factory letter it was completed on August 2, 1928. It is a 1 ½ frame with 28 inch with Parker Special Steel barrels. Original dimensions were 14 ¼ X 2 5/8ths at heel. Weight is a beautiful 7 pounds 5 ounces. Of course I will include photos. I just shot the gun for the first time a few days ago. Without a hand thrower my brother threw up some clay targets Frisbee style for me to hit. Surprisingly enough I hit about 90% of them though they did not go out too far. The chokes are pretty tight for me but even at close distances I did well. I give credit to the gun fitting me as well as the excellent chokes of the Parker. As an aside I did happen to shoot the gun at a piece of cardboard for each barrel at approximately 30 yards. Both patterns were well r