PDA

View Full Version : 8 Gauge Parker

Richard Kellogg
05-04-2011, 02:00 PM
Hi all . I am new to this fourm . Looks like I should be able to find the information that I am looking for here .
My GF father just showed me his 8 gauge Parker Brothers side by side , with hammers , in pretty ruff shape , pictures to come . This thing is huge ! 32" barrels . It also has a metal slide on the barrels that kind of locks it together . It slide down over the barrels and over the reciever , like it is a extra safty device to keep the action closed . I will post some pictures when I get them up loaded . Looking for some kind of value and any information on this , just so he knows what he has . Thank you for the help .

Eric Eis
05-04-2011, 04:08 PM
Richard, not sure what you mean about a metal slide on the barrels. We really need to see some pictures before anyone can give you an idea of value.

Harry Collins
05-04-2011, 04:18 PM
Richard,

Welcome aboard. I too am looking forward to seeing pictures.

Harry

Richard Kellogg
05-04-2011, 05:18 PM
Here she is .

Bill Murphy
05-04-2011, 05:34 PM
Well, how about that! Richard, that is quite a relic. Where exactly was that gun when in use? A lot of history there. I guess the gun quit working to the point where the locking lug became inoperative and someone fabricated the sleeve to keep the gun closed when shooting. You will get plenty of information about its value from members here. Maybe you could find a serial number stamped on the flat of the action or the side of the barrel lug and let us know what it is.

Richard Kellogg
05-04-2011, 05:40 PM
The sleeve isn't factory ? I thought i remember seening a sxs once bebore with the same kind of sleeve set up .
This has been in the barn for about 50-60 years . It was my GF great , great grand fathers . Her dad has already told me a couple storys about it . Just to hear him talk about it is great . His eyes light up to the " good ole days " .

charlie cleveland
05-04-2011, 06:13 PM