PDA

View Full Version : crow loads

charlie cleveland
05-01-2011, 10:06 AM
whats you fellas favorite crow load in 12 ga...i tend tolike the 3 3/4 1 1/4 of 7 1/2 whats yours.... charlie

Keith Parrish
05-06-2011, 03:57 PM
Charlie,
I don't have much for crow loads but I am currently going with 1oz #6 shot, claybuster wadd and 700x powder. assembled on my MEC 650. I am having a slight problem my 1oz charge bar is dropping around .85 to .89 of an ounce which when I go to crimp the shell the crimp kinda sinks down in the center. I have been adding a pinch of shot to get the crimp much better but is there a way I can get the darn charge bar to drop the weight it is suppose to??

I am sure that this load will take care of those coyotes and crows here on the ranch.

scott kittredge
05-06-2011, 05:00 PM
ok
, 20 ga 7/8 ths of an oz 6's. 12 ga. 1 oz or 1 1/8 th oz of 6's, 10 ga 1 1/4 oz of 5's or 6's, but 6 is the best for all ga's i find to shoot crows. i am no expert but i have killed a few crow over the years :whistle: scott

Harry Collins
05-06-2011, 05:16 PM
I too like 6's for crow and pigeon. They seem to kill a little further and both birds can be elusive.

Pete Lester
05-07-2011, 06:47 AM
I am having a slight problem my 1oz charge bar is dropping around .85 to .89 of an ounce which when I go to crimp the shell the crimp kinda sinks down in the center. I have been adding a pinch of shot to get the crimp much better but is there a way I can get the darn charge bar to drop the weight it is suppose to??

Two things going on, first MEC bars consistently drop light, they are designed for use with target size shot, go to "large" shot and there are more voids in the same space. Second, if you use "hard"/"magnum" i.e. high antimony shot it is lighter than "chilled" shot pellet for pellet, the MEC bars throw by volume and they are designed for use with heavier per pellet "chilled" shot.