PDA

View Full Version : Upland hunting with hammer guns

scott porter
04-01-2011, 10:20 PM
I have just become the owner of D grade 10 ga. hammer gun #96343 which is featured in the Parker Story on about 10 pages. I took it pheasant hunting at Primland this past weekend expecting to be shooting over pointed birds that would hold as usual. We had a young lady with us on her first hunt and I planned on backing her up. To my surprise the roosters were running and getting up about 20-30 yards from the dogs and required quicker cocking and bringing the gun to shoulder than I could manage. I dont feel comfortable walking with a cocked gun. Is it advisable to walk with the gun cocked but the breech open. The single motion of closing the breech while raising the gun to shoulder would be better, but I have no experience. Do any of you experienced hammer gun guys have some advice? BTW the gun is choked XF,XXF and the birds fell like stones at some substantial distance.

George Lander
04-01-2011, 11:06 PM
Scott: IMO it is not advisable to carry a cocked hammer gun with the breech open . If the sears are worn at all the act of closing the gun could cause it to fire. I would advise cocking either one or both hammers when bringing the gun to battery.

Best Regards, George

David Holes
04-01-2011, 11:27 PM
Hunting with a hammer gun is a real pleasure, I have not been able to convince myself to hunt with other people while carrying a hammer gun. So when the dogs and I are alone I enjoy those old hammers.

william faulk
04-01-2011, 11:38 PM
I was taught by my Father and Uncles to hunt with hammer guns exactly as described,hammers back,breech open.When gun was mounted,with weak hand on forearm,breech snapped shut,all was one fluid motion.Never saw a mechanical misfire but several prefires with gun discharge prior to touching the shoulder.I do agree,(better safe than sorry)especially when hunters todayjust do not have years of experience with the hammer guns.
Bill :nono:

Dean Romig