PDA

View Full Version : How to clean a Parker Reproduction?

Greg Nolting
03-24-2011, 06:15 PM
I am new to the world of owning a parker and am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my first parker and I was wondering what would be the correct method to clean the action and how to maintain it?

Paul Ehlers
03-24-2011, 08:54 PM
Greg,

Welcome to the wild world of Parkers!! This maybe your first Parker, but I'll bet it won't be your last.

Your question isn't an easy one to answer; Are you talking just a normal after shooting type of cleaning or a total gone-through disassembly type of cleaning.

The short version is for the normal type of cleaning:

Just do what you would to any other gun. Wipe down the metal with a good gun oil, clean off any gunk you can with a Q-tip or soft tooth brush, mop the bores with a good bore solvent & brush, then give them a light coat of oil. Just don't use any type of spray cleaner or oil in the action. Doing this can saturate the wood with oil or cleaner and damage the wood from oil soaking.

If your gun needs a total going through:

Since this is your first Parker, I would suggest that you take it to a competent double gunsmith that knows Parkers for this type of cleaning. In the mean time look at the FAQ section on the forumn and hang out here on a regular basis. It's amazing the things you'll learn here about doing work on these great old guns.

Tony Guccioni
03-25-2011, 02:55 AM
Congratulations.
What did you choose?

I'm patiently waiting for my first Parker Reproduction to appear.
Might be here for a while yet!

Greg, how long did it take to find the right gun?

Greg Nolting
03-25-2011, 07:14 AM
I bought a 28ga 2 barrel set and I plan to hunt with it.

Dean Romig
03-25-2011, 07:36 AM
Greg, you're going to love that Repro. Presuming it is 26/28 inch with IMP/MOD in the 26" barrels and MOD/FULL in the 28" barrels might be good chokes for what you hunt. My choice would be Q1/Q2 and IMP/MOD but I've never seen one choked like that.