PDA

View Full Version : need help

charlie cleveland
12-27-2010, 08:52 PM
i got the round ball 8 ga mould today....the help i need what do you put on the mould to keep the lead from sticking to the mould....the mould is made of brass.....guy done a good job on the mould even put my last name on it...this is my first time to make a round ball with a mould so if some one can coach me through this ordeal maybe we can have a round ball load ready before the seasons out....allsuggestions appreciated... charlie

Dean Romig
12-27-2010, 09:25 PM
Try spraying it with PAM or one of those non-stick cooking aids.

Robert Rambler
12-27-2010, 09:46 PM
Charlie, Check you PM

Forrest Grilley
12-28-2010, 07:23 AM
Hold the cavities over a candle to cover them with soot, it will act as a release agent. After that, just run a lot of balls out of it to make sure it is up to temp. I've never cast a ball that large, but you will probably go through many balls before it will start casting perfect ones. It will take time to bring the mold up to temp. The more you use the mold, the easier it will work. Good luck.

Mike Stahle
12-28-2010, 08:27 AM
Charlie, If you can post some pictures as you progress in this endeavor. :corn:

Robin Lewis
12-28-2010, 10:00 AM
Charlie,

Pictures are a good idea! This would also make for a very interesting Parker Pages article. It would be great to see the pictures and read the details on how you came to do this and what the results are when test fired or better yet used on game.

charlie cleveland
12-28-2010, 11:01 PM
fellas i will do my best to report on this round ball project as it goes along.... and hopefully some pictures... charlie

calvin humburg
12-29-2010, 08:47 AM
Charlie take pictures with Bessies camera and well figure out how to get the pictures on one way or another. ch

Harry Collins
12-29-2010, 09:06 AM
Charlie,