PDA

View Full Version : Parker 10ga. info. needed please

DaveSmith
05-19-2010, 07:28 AM
Hello all, i am new to the world of parker having just received my Grandad's old parker. i am hoping someone can give me a little info. about it.

using this site to locate the correct info. this is what i found on the gun.

sn: 1213xx made in 1878 i think.

barrel weight: a big 5 and small 4 stamped on the table.

frame size: 3, which i think is a 10ga. a 12ga. shell will fit but its loose.

barrel steel: it says "twist"

grade: "P" yes, P i looked with a 10x loop and its a "P". not a PV or PH or any other combo.

now for the bad news, it is in very bad shape. it has been stored out side in a shed for the last 40+ years. if i had known it was there i would have got it decades ago. guess i should have asked grandma about paps guns sooner.

thanks for the help. Dave

Bill Murphy
05-19-2010, 07:56 AM
Big hammerless tens are very nice guns. Show us pictures before you dismiss it as a lost cause.

DaveSmith
05-19-2010, 08:03 AM
Big hammerless tens are very nice guns. Show us pictures before you dismiss it as a lost cause.

it is not hammerless, it has double hammers. also, the right barrel is burst about halfway down right in front of the forstock. looks like it happened decades ago. and it is VERY dirty. i will post photo's later today.

Dave

Harry Collins
05-19-2010, 08:33 AM
Dave,

Serial number 1213XX would make this a 1903 Parker. I checked the "Book" and only four Parkers were listed and they were all 12138X and none were 10 gauge or "P" grade. Parker was still making hammer guns in 1903. My guess is that it was left in the shed after the barrel burst. A lot of shotguns were kept loaded in out building (I found a VHE 20 gauge in a corn crib). My guess is that something "nested" in the barrel and caused the burst.

Harry

calvin humburg
05-19-2010, 08:54 AM
What was the gun like you found in the corn crib pretty bad? ch

Bruce Day
05-19-2010, 09:32 AM