PDA

View Full Version : Parker stock reinforcing rod.

Clint Meier
03-28-2010, 06:24 PM
Howdy,
I am still a newbie to these forums, and while I don't own a Parker yet, I do get to handle quite a few of them. I read here once about a hickory rod that Parker installed in their butt stocks to reinforce them through the grip. Evidently, this rod went from the end of the butt all the way up through the grip to the back of the action. No pictures were provided, and the discussion was minimal.
I was doing some conservation work on a Parker GH with Damascus barrels that had this feature, and thought I'd pass a couple of pics along showing what I could see. Although I didn't measure the diameter of the rod, it was about 5/8" or 3/4" in diameter, and as you can see was stamped twice with "Pat. SEP. 10, 1895".
Does anyone here know if this was done to all Parkers after this patent date, or only ones of certain grades, etc.? I am interested, because this is only the second one like this I have seen. Thank you for your insight....Clint.

Chuck Bishop
03-28-2010, 07:03 PM
Clint,

The PH Parker that you recheckered and added the wood to the butt stock had that reinforcing rod in it or at least at had it before Robert Fulton repaired the crack in the grip before sending it to you.

Usually this hickory rod is seen on much earlier hammerless guns so it was unusual to see it on a 1926 gun. The stock had been shortened earlier in it's life so it was interesting to see the patent stamp on the butt stock. Does the stock have the patent stamp just behing the grip cap? Also the reinforcing rod on mine measured 9/16". Attached are a couple of photo's.

Regards,

Chuck

Dean Romig
03-28-2010, 11:17 PM