PDA

View Full Version : Reliability of the SBT.

paul adams
01-06-2015, 11:13 AM
I am very close to closing the deal on a Parker. Since I plan on shooting the gun on the trap field I'm concerned about ongoing problems.
I am a newbie but I've read that since the guns are almost 100 years old they are prone to problems. The gun I'm contemplating has no cracks or the beginnings of any.
I'm also thinking of other alternatives, i.e. the new Krieghoff KX6, etc.. From an investment view point have Parkers continued to appreciate.
Looking forward to your replies.

Chuck Bishop
01-06-2015, 11:53 AM
Paul,

I wouldn't worry about reliability for this SC. As long as it's in good shape mechanically, it should be good to go. Would I use it to shoot thousands of rounds per year, no. But to shoot an occasional round of trap such as in a local trap league, I would. I learned to shoot with a Parker SC since I was old enough to pull the trigger. I also used it for ATA targets in the beginning. Your only problem is if it does break, you will wait to get it fixed. It's not like a 1100, 870, or BT99 that just about every gunsmith is familiar with. I've only had one thing break on my SC and that was the ejector. Took it to DelGrego for a replacement in the 1970's. I shot a lot of targets using a Krieghoff KX-5 and if the KX6 is anything like it, you'll love it. Built like a bank vault and very few internal parts.

Dean Romig
01-06-2015, 11:54 AM
Parker SBT's are coming on quite strong in the last few years and even more so recently.

Condition is the key in the value of any Parker. Buy wisely and you won't lose.

Jeff Christie
01-06-2015, 02:46 PM
Get the gun if it fits you well. Shoot it all the time. I doubt it will ever break, but if it does, get it fixed and shoot it as before. Life is way too short not to enjoy using good things. Parkers are good things and way cooler than much else you will see in a trap rang gun rack.

Brian Dudley
01-06-2015, 03:58 PM