PDA

View Full Version : Datr & History Parker made in 1893

HerbMoore
01-15-2014, 07:59 PM
OK guys. New to this site. Inherited a Parker I have traced to an 1893 model Serial number 78XXX). Now i would like to trace the ownership and history of this particular Shotgun (12 ga Double barrel hammerless Damascus steel).Since I'm a novice, I need help and guidance to complete the task.

Robin Lewis
01-15-2014, 08:16 PM
A good place to start would be the main page at www.parkerguns.org and click on the list of links that are on the main page's left side. You will find lots there. plug in the ser# and you will find when it was produced and if there are existing records for it (and how to get them if you want).

If you post the ser# someone will see if its in the ser# book and report its configuration when it left the factory.

HerbMoore
01-15-2014, 08:46 PM
The full serial number is 78638. The main page is where I entered the serial number and got the date of 1893. I'll check that again and see if I can get further info on tracing the history of the gun. Thanks

Robin Lewis
01-15-2014, 08:58 PM
It books as a 12ga DH grade with 28 inch damascus barrels and a capped pistol grip stock. Click on Parker ID through FAQ links as well as Parker Letter link. You should get the basic stuff there.

HerbMoore
01-15-2014, 09:10 PM
You guys are great...... and fast with replies. Thanks. I'll post the progress. Family history (as accurate as family histories go) has the gun as owned by a plantation owner in South Carolina who was a famous actress, who sold the gun to my uncle. Will be interesting to see if the family history has any resemblance to any existing Parker records. Thanks.

George Lander
01-17-2014, 07:18 PM
That will be interesting. Which plantation? I have the history on most of them.

Best Regards, George

HerbMoore
01-21-2014, 09:27 AM