PDA

View Full Version : New Parker Owner

jason porras
01-01-2010, 09:00 PM
Hello, I'm new to collecting Parkers. I do own many other guns, but this one is very unique, and my oldest. I have an 1878 "GH" rating I believe (just says "G" on the marking). It was made in 1891 from what the serial number states. It's also a size "1", but I'm not sure what gauge it is? My guess is 12? I'm brand spanking new to this gun, so any info such as value, tips on what ammo to use if I decide to shoot it, etc. would be greatly appreciated (I hear modern ammo could possibly damage the damascus barrel). It is a damascus barrel, it seems to function properly, barrel looks good, I don't plan to shoot it all the time, but would love to fire it a few times before I hang it on the wall. I plan to keep it and maybe even pick up another one (this one has me hooked), I see values vary a ton, I don't have any plans to sell, but would love to know what I have as far a "worth" goes. I picked it up at an auction, I knew the "Parker" name, but that was about it, not many bid on it, and I picked it up fairly cheap, so I think I win regardless. Anyways, thanks for any help/info anyone has for me. Oh, I'd rate the condition "good".

Robin Lewis
01-01-2010, 09:03 PM
Can you tell us the ser # and maybe post some pictures? With the ser # we may be able to look up information on it...... maybe.

jason porras
01-01-2010, 09:13 PM
I'll ask the Mrs. if she'll take some pics of it for me. The ser # is 67500. Hopefully pictures will follow... Thanks!

Robin Lewis
01-01-2010, 09:19 PM
Your gun isn't listed in the "Parker Gun Identification & Serialization" book. The records for some guns are missing from the book, but it looks like the PGCA database has information on it (based on the Research Letter link on the home page). You may want to get a letter from them.

jason porras
01-01-2010, 10:10 PM